Why I garden

20130701-060441.jpg The weekend is over and the garden looks fabulous. It has been weeded, tilled, tied up, watered and all but wrapped in a bow. My hands are sore, my arms and legs are a bit sunburned and my body senses muscles not recently used.

As I worked, I allowed my mind to wonder and relax. All of my mental facilities were directed to the activity of gardening. On Monday morning, while my body is stiff, my mind is relaxed. There are seven bags of kale and one bag of peas to share with friends, freeze or eat.

This is why I garden. To relax my mind from the mental stress of the week, to share fresh produce with friends, and to put healthy food on our table. Ahh…. the good life.

20130701-062245.jpg

4 thoughts on “Why I garden

  1. Hi there! Nice to meet you! Do you live in Wahoo? My husband’s sister lives in Wahoo, and she’s quite the gardener. πŸ™‚ Your garden looks wonderful. I don’t knit, or garden, just wanted to say hello to a fellow Nebraska blogger. I’ll be back to read more.

    • Hello! We live two miles north of Wahoo. I know two master gardeners, many knitters and library friends in Wahoo. My apologies for the delayed response. I have been away from my blog, and am anxious to get back on track. Thank you for reading. I will check out your blog now!

      • Not a problem, I’ve been pretty busy myself. It looks like we are moving to York in the next couple of months, so we are trying to find a new house. Yikes! Fun fun fun! πŸ™‚

Leave a comment