Moving on up…

After dropping my phone in the water (again) last week and fighting with the “end call” and “send” buttons that only worked if I opened the keyboard, I decided it was time to move to the next level of technology – the smart phone.  I did my due diligence and started with online research, completed an online chat with the rep, then took a survey of my coworkers.  The iPhone 4 (free upgrade) was going to be mine before I did the survey at work.  My coworkers chided me into upgrading to the 4s – and I am sooooo glad that I did.  In other words…  I LOVE my new phone.

Spring Mornings

Our place

When I listened to Steve Jobs book, shortly after his death, I thought he was extremely smart and visionary,  but I had no idea just how his detail oriented requirements were going to change my life.  The phone just feels good to hold.  The look and feel of it are perfection.  I love the apps and all of the little goodies that I am constantly finding as I use her.  (Yes, she is definitely female, but I have not come up with a proper name yet.) My little sister recently bought a new camera with Panorama views.  I was so very impressed with it that I’ve been shopping for a new phone for myself.

County Roads

County Roads

The iPhone 4s has a panoramic camera.  BONUS.

I started playing with the camera yesterday morning after I caught two skunks in the chicken house trap.  The skunks pictures looked like I only had 1/2 cup of coffee, but it was a learning experience.

Abbie's new portrait

Abbie’s new portrait

During our morning walk, I taught myself more about the camera – enough to come up with a couple of interesting views,  along with a new portrait of Abbie.  She does not like to have her picture taken.  The last good photo I have of her was taken two years ago, so the fact that the iPhone captured her before she realized what I was doing is impressive.

During my learning curve, I captured images of my shoes, a video of the grass, weeds, and a video of Abbie’s rear end and my shoes as we walked.

Our next move is to update our home internet service and land line, that will be followed shortly by a new wireless computer for my husband.  The iPhone has started our season of upgrading.  I can’t wait 🙂

2 thoughts on “Moving on up…

  1. Sounds like you’re having fun, Lori. I had Kyle read your blog because that’s the phone he has. He thinks I definitely need to upgrade as well. We’ll see . . .

    _____

  2. Wow how funny. I just got the iPhone 5 the other day. Yes this new technology in my hands in amazing. It is also making me feel like I have been living in the dark ages for some time now. And Ethan loves that my phone now has games on it. He knows how to play them all!!!

Leave a Reply

