Decisions, Decisions

Fabulous Bamboo Yarn in Red

Fabulous Bamboo Yarn in Red

A recent conversation had us in a discussion about the benefits and drawbacks of quilting vs. knitting.   In the end, we decided you can have MANY pairs of socks, but you only need so many quilts, plus there’s the whole storage issue if you have limited closet space. Since I finished my red socks last night, and the felted bowls last weekend,

Felted bowls, nested

Felted bowls, nested

I wanted to cast on another pair of socks to practice my continental style knitting.The problem came when I looked at my sock stash and could not decide which yarn to use. Thanks to my knitting buddies who keep me in the loop with yarn sales, I am blessed to have a generous stash and appreciate this abundance every time I feel the need to cast on another project. However, when I looked at my yarn, there were so many choices, it was difficult to make a final decision. I narrowed down the choices to these three: Spring Fling, Aquamarine and Seattle.

Spring colors

Spring colors

Question:  Do I feel like bright pink, teal, blue, green (Spring Fling with small skein), or subtle greens and blue (Aquamarine, again, a small skein). Or maybe, a lovely purple, teal, blue, green, mauve (Seattle in one big skein). All were self striping, so by choosing a simple pattern the yarn would be showcased.One of the deciding factors had to be the portability of the project. I have these great little project bags that fit in my purse, so the small skeins won points.  Take out Seattle with the big skein.  In the end, the name, Spring Fling, won the vote.  Deciding factors?  Small skein, bright pink, save the Seattle for a larger project.

Spring Fling wins

Spring Fling wins

Decision made, needles ready. Cast on. When I practiced the continental style knitting on the felted bowls with big needles and worsted weight wool, it was easy. Number two circulars and super fine weight is a whole ‘nother story. My fingers do not yet remember this process, and with the smaller needles and yarn, it is very slow. Thankfully, it takes time to upload an image to the blog, so I can pick up the needles while I wait and practice. I am halfway through the first ribbed row. Grandma’s adages race through my mind.  Stitch by stitch it’s a cinch.  Slow and steady wins the race.  No one will know how long it took you to make the project, they will just admire it when you are done.  Thanks Grandma.  I’ll keep practicing the continental stitch.

Maybelline testing out the bowls

Maybelline testing out the bowls

P.S. Maybelline is requesting the next size felted bowl. While she appreciates and likes the largest pink bowl, and even though she is a petite kitty, she needs a little bigger bed.  I look forward to evaluating my stash for Maybelline’s felted bed.  For now, I’m going to keep working on my socks… stitch by stitch.

2 thoughts on “Decisions, Decisions

Leave a Reply

