Harvesting Wool

Entangled Vines day 6

Entangled Vines day 6

My newest obsession is “harvesting wool.” Previously I named the process “recycling wool.”  Recycling is a politically correct, friendly term, but harvesting is more natural, earth friendly, and is also the proper knitting term (as corrected by my friend who taught me the process.)

The combination of harvesting wool along with of a pattern from Botanical Knits adds another layer of earthiness to my current knitting project.  As a gardener who is being delayed by the rainy season in Nebraska,  I am obsessed with using the harvested yarn.  Last night I got to the part of the pattern titled,”Divide for Sleeves.”  This is my first Raglan pattern, so the directions took some time and consideration, but once done, made perfect sense.  Now I get to do stockinette stitch for 7 1/2 inches.  I considered adding in a pattern to this part, but only briefly.  There is a lovely, meditative element in knitting stockinette stitch.  It is also good for conversation with friends, as the knitting requires very little brainpower routing.

Thankfully, the harvested wool is taking the place of my call to do spring gardening and instead, allows me to be grateful for the rain.  Since I choose not to muck through the mud in my garden, I knit.  The “earthy” process of harvesting wool is easily compared to the process required to harvest from the garden.

  • Unravel the sweater = Till the garden
  • Cast on = Plant seeds
  • Knit the pattern = Tend the garden; water, weed, etc.
  • Block the finished pattern = Pick produce / Preserve (Freeze, can)
  • Wear /Use the finished product = Eat fresh and preserved garden goodies!

Speaking of gardening, I did get some seeds in the garden before the rain hit last week.  I planted potatoes, peas, spinach, red kale, blue kale, radish and what few kohlrabi seeds I had leftover from last year.  Unfortunately, I did not have any beet seeds, but with the possibility of snow today, replanting may be required anyway.

And, so I knit and purl.  If I can’t work in the garden, I can work on my sweater.  Life is good.

6 thoughts on “Harvesting Wool

  1. I like to think of it as “up cycling”! Sweater looks awesome. One my next stashbusting projects is going to be Mud Season, a short sleeves raglan top down sweater. What part of Nebraska are you in? I grew up in Kansas just the other side of the state line from Chester/Hubble area.

Leave a Reply

